About us

Universities Estonia was established on November 1st, 2000 by six public universities in Estonia. The purpose of the non-profit association is to contribute to the promotion of educational, scientific and cultural life in Estonia by representing its members and forming joint positions on issues of common interest. According to the statutes of association, founding members and those Estonian universities that provide education in at least three scientific fields on the basis of bachelor's, master's and doctoral curricula and where there is continuous and successful research and the defense of doctoral theses can be members of the council. The board members of the Council of Rectors are Rector Mart Kalm from the Estonian Academy of Arts, Rector Ivari Ilja from the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre, Rector Toomas Asser from the University of Tartu, Rector Tõnu Viik from Tallinn University, Rector Tiit Land from Tallinn University of Technology and Rector Mait Klaassen from the Estonian University of Life Sciences. As of August 25, 2022, the chairman of the board is Rector Toomas Asser.